Skip to content

Delta Pacers win silver at Ultimate Provincials

Outstanding post-season run ends with loss to Burnaby North in title game played last Friday at Newton Athletic Park

Delta Pacers Ultimate team nearly produced the first B.C. School Sports provincial banner in recent memory for the Ladner high school.

A memorable post-season run concluded with a silver medal performance at the provincial AAA championships at Surrey’s Newton Athletic Park last week. The Pacers rolled off five straight victories before falling 12-9 to Burnaby North in Friday’s (May 26) title game. It’s the best-ever finish in the program’s brief history and matched the runner-up finish the boys curling team accomplished back in 2019.

The Pacers entered the 16-team event looking to better last year’s ninth-place finish and they wasted little time in doing so with round-robin wins over Vancouver schools Eric Hamber and David Thompson, along with Langley’s Walnut Grove, to capture their pool group and secure a quarter-final berth. Eric Hamber was the defending provincial champions.

A Friday morning win over Oak Bay set-up an epic final four tilt with Heritage Woods. Delta played catch-up for much of the match before finally taking the lead in the late going and pulled out a 11-9 win.

It was then about a two-hour break before hitting the sweltering field turf surface for the third time that day.

The Vikings took advantage of a slow DSS start to jump out to an early 5-1 lead. The Pacers fought their way back to make things interesting, twice pulling within two points, but each time Burnaby North used its methodical and well-executed passing scheme to extend the advantage.

It was Delta’s first post-season loss in nine games after earlier going unbeaten to win the South Fraser Championship.

Coached by parent volunteer and former national level player Dave Jones, the Pacers roster featured Turner Anderson, Aylssa Aulik, Peyton Brown, Casey Cartlidge, Quincy Chong, Amorey Cronmiller, Paige Day, Evangelos Falcos, Ryley Ferguson, Aimee Havertstock, Tyler Jones, Harrison Last, Sophia Lawton, Saiya Mann, Abby Mischke, Nabeel-Aahmed Moledina, Morgan Omstead, Paisley Reid, Josh Robie, Joanna Rybaltowicz, Rylan Semler, Kaida Tarumoto and Spencer Wong. The teacher sponsor was Kayla Jow.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks