Skip to content

Kyle Losse Memorial Tournament starts Thursday in Tsawwassen

Played in the memory of Tsawwassen baseball standout who tragically passed away in 2018, top 15U and 13U teams converge on Winskill Park for four-day tournament
Kyle Losse tourney
The Losse family presented Delta's Ryan Heppner with the MVP Award back at the 2019 Kyle Losse Memorial Tournament. Heppner, who is taking his baseball career to UBC, was a good friend of their son Kyle. This year's Kyle Losse Memorial starts Thursday.

One of the biggest weekends of the year on the local minor baseball calendar returns with the 2022 Kyle Losse Memorial Tournament, starting Thursday at Winskill Park.

Hosted by the Tsawwassen Amateur Baseball Association, the Delta Blue Jays and the Losse family, the event features an outstanding field of teams competing in the 15U and 13U Divisions.

The tournament was launched in 2018 in memory of the talented Tsawwassen teen who tragically passed from complications of a massive stroke in January of that year. He was just 14. His family remains heavily involved in Tsawwassen Baseball with his mom Niki serving as president and dad Brian being a longtime coach with the association.

The 15U (Bantam) Division will feature many of the top teams in the province and beyond. The host Blue Jays are looking to breakthrough to the winner’s circle after a pair of runner-up finishes at the previous tournaments, including a loss to White Rock in the 2019 final. Delta is enjoying another strong season with a 29-9 record in the B.C. Premier Bantam Baseball League.

The Jays will open play Thursday with round-robin games against the Tri-City Thunder (10:30 a.m.) and the Calgary Bucks (1 p.m.). They will also take on Nanaimo Pirates (3:30 p.m.) and Victoria Eagles (6 p.m.) on Friday.

Other participating teams include: Langley Blaze, North Shore Twins, Vancouver Community, UBC Thunder, Parksville Royals, Chilliwack Cougars, Abbotsford Cardinals, Coquitlam Reds, Township Bluesox and Victoria Mariners.

The top two teams from each of the three pool groups advance to the single knockout playoff round that starts with quarter-final games on Saturday (5 p.m.). The semis are slated for 10:30 a.m. on Sunday and the championship game goes at 1:30 p.m.

The 13U (Pee Wee) Division will feature eight teams including a pair of Tsawwassen entries. Other participating teams include Vernon Canadians, Ladner Red Sox, Richmond Chuckers, Campbell River, Vancouver Minor and South Okanagan. The semis take place at 10 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. on Sunday. The title game is slated for 3 p.m.