Another big party for South Delta Minor Hockey

14th annual holiday tournament determined bragging rights in four divisions

Local bragging rights were determined among South Delta Minor Hockey’s “C” level teams at the association’s 15th annual Party In Da House.

The annual holiday tournament is exclusively for SDMHA teams and determines berths for the Delta Cup competition later this season against representatives from cross-town rivals North Delta.

article continues below

This year’s Party In Da House winners are:

Atom Division: Tornadoes.

Pee Wee Division: The Gulls.

Bantam Division: Moose.

Midget Division: Huskies.

It was longtime parent volunteer Theresa Watts who launched the tournament to put recreational players in the spotlight — recognizing they are the core of any minor hockey association.

“The focus just always seems to be on rep hockey and the high level athletes," said Watts at the time. "The holiday season is the busiest time of year for hockey tournaments but there is very little for the house teams. I wanted to do something for these kids with the emphasis being on having some fun."

Watts’ efforts earned a Delta Sports Hall of Fame volunteer award and she was recipient of the 2009 RBC Local Hockey Leader Award — resulting in a $10,000 donation to SDMHA. 


Read Related Topics

© Delta Optimist


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Delta Optimist welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus