Skip to content

Laura Cassidy is the new TFN Chief

The First Nation's election was held on Saturday
Laura Cassidy was elected Chief by TFN members in their General Election, which was held on Saturday, Oct. 15.

The Tsawwassen First Nation has elected a new Chief.

Laura Cassidy was elected by TFN members to the position in their General Election, which was held on Saturday, Oct. 15. 

Sheila Williams was the other candidate running for the position.

In addition to selecting a Chief, TFN members also voted for 13 Legislators to form the Tsawwassen Government.

Elected as Legislators were Maryanne Adams, Louise Ahlm, Mike Baird, Taylor Baker, Melinda Cassidy, Valerie Cross, Kathy Genge, Trent Genge, Terri Ann Splockton, Bryce Williams, Dawn Williams, Loretta Williams and Tia Williams.

The four legislators with the most votes form the Executive Council with the Chief. The legislators who will be part of the Executive Council this term are Bryce Williams, a former Chief who had the most votes among all the candidates in this election, as well as Tia Williams, Valerie Cross and Taylor Baker

Valerie Cross was Acting Chief, appointed this summer following the passing of Chief Ken Baird.

The TFN saw 180 members cast a ballot.

Only TFN members could vote for Chief and Legislator candidates. However, non-members who reside on Tsawwassen Lands, as well members, could vote for candidates for the Delta School Board.

Following the General Election, members of the Legislature will choose their Squiqel (Speaker), who is responsible for chairing meetings, maintaining order and ensuring that Legislators have a fair opportunity to speak.

The Optimist has requested an interview with Laura Cassidy. We hope to talk with her later this week.