Skip to content

Coun. Scott Hamilton to run for Liberals in Delta North

Another Delta councillor has thrown his hat in the ring for the next provincial election.

Another Delta councillor has thrown his hat in the ring for the next provincial election.

The Liberals Wednesday announced that Scott Hamilton will be the party's candidate in Delta North, where current New Democrat MLA Guy Gentner won't be seeking re-election.

Hamilton will be acclaimed at a nomination meeting this Saturday.

"No single issue is more important to British Columbians than our economy," said Hamilton.

"The next election is about protecting and growing our economy with Premier Christy Clark and the B.C. Liberals, or going backwards under the NDP," he said.

Hamilton believes the B.C. Liberals are the best to ensure that Delta's regional transportation issues are addressed.

The party in a press release also noted the government recently announced an extensive public consultation process on replacing the George Massey Tunnel.

"I have proudly represented Delta residents since 2002 and am a proud resident of this constituency. I know the issues and the people," added Hamilton,

Former Delta South Liberal MLA Val Roddick recently told the Optimist she thinks Hamilton would be a strong candidate.

Noting Hamilton brings plenty of experience, Roddick said the Liberals will field a strong slate of newcomers in the election.

First-term Delta councillor Sylvia Bishop has been acclaimed the NDP's candidate for Delta North.

Gentner, a former Delta councillor, has held the riding since 2005. Prior to that, Liberal Reni Masi held the riding.

Meanwhile, another councillor, Bruce McDonald, announced this week he would be seeking the Liberal nomination in Delta South. A nomination meeting is scheduled for Jan. 22. Tsawwassen resident Bruce Fougner has confirmed he is seeking the nomination.

With three councillors planning to run, a municipal by-election will likely be required to fill at least one vacant council seat, and possibly two, after this year's election.

The provincial election will be held May 14.