Skip to content

Delta throwback: New school, new president

The new school opened in the late 1960s as the school district’s student population was growing rapidly
Dick Howes (left) accepted the gavel from J.P Hudson, principal of the school, at an assembly.

Let’s head back to the February 1968 pages of the Optimist to check out who was voted to be the new president of the student council of the new Tsawwassen Junior Secondary School.

Dick Howes won the charter election, which was reportedly an exciting one.

Students got behind the campaign with posters, soap-box orations and special events.

Three of the students gave Howes a close contest.

They were Denis Oxenbury, who became vice-president, Joan Friesen and Randy Burns. Frank Peabody was the secretary of the student council and Peggy Jones was the treasurer.

A few years later, in 1973, Delta Senior Secondary opened its doors. In 1994, the two schools merged to form South Delta Secondary, and eventually the junior secondary building was demolished.