Skip to content

Delta's Harvie remains as Metro's chair

Harvie was acclaimed this year with no challengers for the chair position
The regional district notes that, in the coming weeks, Harvie will determine the standing committees and their membership, which will then consider priorities, policies, and activities for the organization, and make recommendations to the board.

Delta Mayor George Harvie was recently once again selected by the Metro Vancouver Board of Directors as its chair.

First elected as chair in 2022, he was acclaimed this time around, with Anmore Mayor John McEwen acclaimed as vice-chair.

The regional district is governed by the 41-person board of directors made up of elected officials from each member jurisdiction.

Following the Nov. 24 acclamation, Harvie on social media thanked his colleagues.

“Together we have achieved significant accomplishments for our growing region. I am honoured by your confidence & look forward to continuing working together to ensure strong and sustainable communities,” he said on X (Formerly Twitter).

Harvie was Delta’s longtime city manager and was first elected as mayor in 2018, and re-elected to another four-year term in 2022.

Metro Vancouver provides core utility services to 21 municipalities, Tsawwassen First Nation, and Electoral Area A, serving more than 2.8 million residents.

Services include drinking water, wastewater treatment, solid waste management, air quality regulation, planning for urban growth, managing a regional parks system and providing affordable housing.

Delta’s previous mayor who was chair of the Metro board was Lois Jackson, who held the position from 2006 to 2011.