Skip to content

Former Optimist sports editor named Media Person of the Year

Mark Booth to receive BC School Sports Award in May
Former Optimist sports editor Mark Booth has been named Media Person of the Year by B.C. School Sports. File Photo

Former Optimist sports editor Mark Booth has been named Media Person of the Year by B.C. School Sports.

The award recognizes an individual in the media who has highlighted and celebrated school sport in their reporting. The nominee has continued to bring attention to BCSS, its member schools and student-athletes by showcasing the very best of school sport in B.C.

“It is an honour to be recognized by B.C. School Sports,” said Booth. “Throughout my career covering high school athletics ranks right at the top. Not only the opportunity to cover some tremendous games and student athletes but establishing relationships with the coaches that make it possible.

“I have always admired the teachers, administrators and members of the community that provide endless hours of volunteer time to help create lifetime memories for students beyond the classroom. And many have been doing it for decades. “

According to BCSS, the award winners recognize individuals who have demonstrated exceptional commitment and dedication to fostering student-athletes in their pursuit of sport excellence.

The other award winners include:

Honour Award: Paul Thiessen (Okanagan Mission Secondary, Kelowna)

Women in Sport & Leadership: Breanne Quist (Nanaimo Christian School)

Inspirational School: Sullivan Heights Secondary (Surrey)

Citation of Excellence Award – Coach

Al Carmichael (Oak Bay Secondary)

Shon Ryan (Claremont Secondary)

Rob Gunning (Penticton Secondary)

Adele Renzullo (St. Patrick Regional Secondary)

Citation of Excellence Award – Official

Wayne Steele (football)

John Mill (basketball)

Citation of Excellence Award – Administrator

Mike Finch (Sentinel Secondary)

Citation of Excellence Award – Athletic Director

Corey Yamaoka (South Kamloops Secondary)

Rhonda Trunkfield (Terry Fox Secondary)

“It is such a privilege to celebrate these incredible individuals,” said BCSS executive director Jordan Abney. “They have dedicated so much to supporting school sports and changing the lives of hundreds, if not thousands of student-athletes. They are truly the very best of the school sport community.”

The Awards Ceremony will take place on May 10th in Kelowna.