Skip to content

Plenty of Delta flavour at World Junior Lacrosse Championships

Islanders represented on winning Canadian team along with Australia
Team Australia featured Islanders co-head coach Andy Ogilvie along with players Brayden Kirk, Cody Hoegg and Arjan Singh.

There was plenty of Delta Islanders’ flavour at the recent World Junior Lacrosse Championships in Winnipeg.

The six team event wrapped up on Aug. 11 with Canada defeating Iroquois Nation 13-10 in the gold medal game. The Canadian line-up included the Islanders’ Brendan Szabo and Mitch Sandberg. They were among six B.C. players on the roster. 

Meanwhile, Team Australia featured an even larger Delta contingent led by Andy Ogilvie who served as head coach. His roster also featured Brayden Kirk, Cody Hoegg and Arjan Singh.

Australia finished the tournament with a 2-2 record — highlighted by wins over Israel (8-7) and Poland (19-10).

The championships is sanctioned by International Indoor Junior Lacrosse organization. 

Last year Szabo was joined by Hayden Dickson and Brody Harris on the winning Canadian team in Saskatoon.