Plenty of Delta flavour at World Junior Lacrosse Championships

Islanders represented on winning Canadian team along with Australia

There was plenty of Delta Islanders’ flavour at the recent World Junior Lacrosse Championships in Winnipeg.

The six team event wrapped up on Aug. 11 with Canada defeating Iroquois Nation 13-10 in the gold medal game. The Canadian line-up included the Islanders’ Brendan Szabo and Mitch Sandberg. They were among six B.C. players on the roster. 

article continues below

Meanwhile, Team Australia featured an even larger Delta contingent led by Andy Ogilvie who served as head coach. His roster also featured Brayden Kirk, Cody Hoegg and Arjan Singh.

Australia finished the tournament with a 2-2 record — highlighted by wins over Israel (8-7) and Poland (19-10).

The championships is sanctioned by International Indoor Junior Lacrosse organization. 

Last year Szabo was joined by Hayden Dickson and Brody Harris on the winning Canadian team in Saskatoon. 

Read Related Topics

© Delta Optimist


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Delta Optimist welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus